Coughing & Shivering

I have a cold. I don’t like colds. They’re distinctly unpleasant. I had a fever a couple of days ago, but that’s gone now, and I’ve reached the ‘slightly less coughing but much less voice’ stage of the illness. The upside is that I don’t need to blow my nose as often. The downside is that I really need my voice for work.

Surprisingly enough, it can be a challenge making oneself heard over 38 grade four 10-year olds in a wood-panelled room at the best of times. With a cold, things become slightly more difficult.

What I find particularly fascinating is the standard reaction from the teachers/office workers/adult private students.

I have had several people ask me if I have gone the doctor. Not so strange. I have also had several people ask if I have gone (or am planning to go) to the hospital.

It’s a cold. There is no cure. I tell this to the people around me in my broken Japanese, and they look at me as though I’m crazy. One adult student suggested that I could get a shot from the doctor. I had to explain that if I got a shot, I would get sicker. This seemed to be a new concept for him, as I had to explain the idea of lowered immunities.

So, no, no doctor, but much coughing and sniffling.

On the upside, I had a good sleep last night, for the first time in a few weeks. I’m very pleased about that.

On a different note…

It’s cold in our city. Not Edmonton cold, or even Moncton cold, but cold nonetheless.

It would seem that we live in a bowl. So, during the day, we have been getting up to 8 degrees or so. At night (or more accurately, the moment the sun goes down), our temperature plunges to the early negatives. As a bonus feature, we regularly have wind.

Did I mention that they know nothing of household insulation here? That is probably a lie, but, for our apartment, it seems to be truth. So, little to no insulation + lack of central heating + ridiculously expensive heating methods (Gas heating is crazy pricey, as is any electric heater that hopes to have any effect.) + “safety designed” portable heaters (Our kerosene heaters shut off after three hours, and there is no way of preventing this. As a bonus, one lets out a loud beep as a warning that time is up, the other plays a tune. Twice.) = cold nights and cold mornings.

The latter heater’s little ditty scared us the first time it happened, as we had left the heater on for the night, not yet privy to the three hour “safety” feature. We were fast asleep when, “dee-doo-deedy-doo-deeedy-doo,” plays loudly twice, then stops. A few minutes later, it happens again. Heh.

Thankfully, we have since discovered that that heater has a timer, so we can have the house warmed in the morning. On the other hand, if a certain amount of time passes after the timer’s start… you guessed it: “dee-doo-deedy-doo-deeedy-doo.”

Twice.

~ by truth9 on February 7, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
