So it goes…

My title, considering my subject, is probably not the most original.

Kurt Vonnegut, Jr. is dead at the age of 84 and not from smoking.

“He’s in heaven now,” which, of course, gets the big laugh.

I’m not entirely sure how I first learned about Vonnegut’s work. I know that his first novel that I read was Timequake. I know that I had heard his name, somewhere, and that I picked up a discounted hardcover copy of the book on a whim, saying to myself, “He’s supposed to be really good,” though I had no idea who had told me that.

I know that it was this book that led to hunt down as much of his stuff as I could, and I know that asking in second hand bookshops for “authors like Kurt Vonnegut” resulted in my introductions to both Tom Robbins and Chuck Palahniuk.

I know that I read almost exclusively science-fiction and fantasy prior to reading Vonnegut, after which I actually began to respect literature.

Indirectly, I know that reading Vonnegut led to both Umberto Eco and Haruki Murakami.

I don’t know if I ever bought a full priced book with his name on it, but I do know that the acquisition of a new Vonnegut book always resulted in the delay of whatever else I was reading/watching/playing at the time. I would get a new Vonnegut novel, and I would devour it. I can’t think of anyone else that I can read so quickly but who forces me to think as much.

I do not mourn the death of one of my favorite authors. While saddening, I can’t see him crying about it.

And, if nothing else, I know that there are still two novels, and some short story collections that I haven’t read yet, so my relationship with Mr. Vonnegut is far from over.

And so on…

~ by truth9 on April 14, 2007.

4 Responses to “So it goes…”

  1. Slaughterhouse Five is one of my favourites. He’ll be missed, but as you say, life goes on.

  2. […] have to agree with my friend Jon and say that this passing is sad but is no reason to mourn. Arvo Pärt’s music may bring me […]

  3. If only we had some small, feathered animal to represent him and remember him by.

    But seriously, I’ve only read one of his books, though I intend to finish them all someday.

    I just hope Robert Jordan doesn’t follow suit any time soon.

  4. Last I read about RJ on his blog, he was doing as well as to be expected. His prognosis was good overall, but the meds were giving him no end of trouble. I don’t think he’s been writing at all because of it or if he has it’s been slower than normal (and we all know how slow he already is). As long as he keeps breathing I figure we’ll see the final book sometime around 2010 (and sadly I’m not joking).

Leave a Reply

 
