Friday at Ikspiari

Ikspiari, for your information, is a mall by Disneyland. It has a number of shops, a number of restaurants, and, most importantly, it has the only movie theater in Tokyo that we know with absolute certainty how to get to.

First, I shoud share this. Normal View in Asagaya

This is the normal view from our hotel. You know that whole Mt. Fuji view thing? Total fluke. It rained hard on Saturday. The smog was gone for a day. Since then we’ve had this view (here’s a close-up on where Mt. Fuji should be). Normal view in Asagaya 2

Anyways, on the way from the hotel to the train station we encountered some miniature horses. They were very cute. We took pictures. Amanda fed them carrots. We donated a few hundred yen for their upkeep. Amanda wants one.

After looking at the horses, and taking pictures of the horses, and petting the horses, we headed on our way to Ikspiari.

When we arrived, an hour-ish later, we were hungry, so we ate some pasta, but not before getting our tickets for a matinee of Spider-man 3. That’s right, we actually got the movie early enough to watch it, potentially, before you all in Canada (unless you went to a midnight showing on Wednesday). But we could have gone to the movie on Tuesday, Wednesday, or Thursday, so we’re still better with the movie release date then you all. For once.

We watched the movie, and we enjoyed it.

I don’t think I’ll do a full review here, but I will say that I think it suffers from having too many stories going on. Venom almost seems like little more than fan-service. We did have one of those cool moments where we were the only ones in the theater who are fluent in English, so there were a couple moments when we laughed and the rest of the audience didn’t get the jokes. This was largely related to a scene involving Bruce Campbell, who is, once again, awesome in a Spider-man movie. Oh, and there’s another great dance/musical scene akin to the “Raindrops Keep Fallin’ On My Head” scene in the last movie.

After the movie, we meandered a few of the stores, bought a few items of imported food (A&W ROOT BEER, BABY!!!! YEAH!!), and then went for a meal at the Rainforest Cafe.

The Rainforest Cafe is a theme restaurant, and there are a number of pictures that should give you an idea of the decor. Occasionally, that gorilla thing would move and yell, and the elephant would trumpet (not at the same time). The place would also get dark occasionally, and there would be “thunder” and “lightning,” as we prepared for a rainforest “storm.” Kind of cool, actually.

The food was very good, but the Japanese seem to have some odd ideas about what makes a fancy meal. My meal was very tasty, but consisted of little more than a couple of back ribs and two weinery looking bratwurst. I liked it.

I can safely say that it was our most expensive meal on this trip, but we also felt full to bursting after, so it was cool.

After the meal, we returned to our hotel.

~ by truth9 on May 5, 2007.

3 Responses to “Friday at Ikspiari”

  1. I went to a Rainforest Cafe with Rachel in Galveston last year and by far it was the most expensive and poor tasting meal that I’ve ever had. I think the meal which essentially consisted of a club sandwich for me and a seafood platter for Rachel came to about $60 US for what was essentially a Burger and fry type of meal. WTF?!?! I didn’t care too much for the atmosphere. Sure the idea of anamatronic monkeys and faux thunder is fun in theory, but after the 3rd monkey show and thunderstorm in 10 minutes I was pretty sure even Jane Goodall would have tried to depopulate the damn monkeys. Plus the damn volcano on top of the restaurant spewed greasy crap onto our car that took forever to clean.

    What scared me though was we had to wait for about 30min to be seated and there were families of 5-8 people (incl kids) waiting to eat… and the kids menu wasn’t any cheaper. For 4 people just to eat burgers it would’ve been 120 bucks!

    In comparison, we went to a nice semi-fancy restaurant the next night, spent about the same on the meal. Had amazing service, a gorgeous piece of fish each and a great atmosphere. For the life of me I can’t remember the name of the place but I recommend it 🙂

    I won’t go near another RFC if you paid me 🙂

  2. Sounds like you’ve had a real adventure! Are you back to work on Monday – the 7th? Glad you had an interesting vacation! Hope to talk with you next weekend D.V.

    P.S. I like your hat!! Now you can get the other one dry cleaned!

  3. While I can understand your disdain for the RFC, I can assure you that, despite my comments, I quite enjoyed the experience. Thankfully, the animals weren’t overly noisy, and there was no volcano, I will say that the place is overpriced, but then, in Japan, bratwurst is crazy expensive for some reason.

    Glad you like the hat, mom, And yes, work started on the 7th.

Leave a Reply

 
