Something Else Amusing

This is something else from Tetsubo Productions, sort of.

The idea is that you take a verse of a song, translate it into one or two other languages, then back to English.  They suggest English to German to French and back to English,  then see who knows what the song is.

I’ve only done one translation set, to and from Japanese.

It’s a very LiveJournally thing to do, but it amuses me, so there you go.  Indeed, I find it so amusing I may do it semi-regularly.  Or not.

I hope to get a few comments as guesses, but we’ll see.

Even my mom should know the first song.

1)  When you know happiness and that, you know happiness and that you know happiness and that, your hand, your hand which is hit, hit, to be happy, if you know that, your surface shows your hand which certainly hits that.

The second song should be fairly obvious, it’s pretty famous.  A couple of words give it away.

2) When I when being troubled find by my, as for mother Mary in story word of my intelligence, that it makes a certain way comes. And as for her the truth of story word of my intelligence is before, that it makes a certain way stands in my time of the darkness.

This is too easy. One of my readers should get it in seconds.  Quite frankly, I’m disappointed. Then again, maybe it speaks to the excellence of the lyrics. Or something.

3) When I die being vain heart, do to promise me who promise me, thing those place me bury me, thinking, that we would like to be, dig me whom is not good, carrying the city breeze to which the sickness expands simply, whisper of the wood of the trash sack, and enormous from behavior and me slowly, heavyheartedly, and securely do to lower profit do ry Cooder in order to sing my eulogy

And now for a song that I love and discovered via Shrek, of all places.   Unfortunately, a couple of words didn’t translate.  All the better.

4) Don’t you think? now as for me [deivuitsudo] which is done and the main thing But where you really do not worry music happily is the cord/code of secret is, so, you inquired about that it is? As for that this way 1/4 it goes, fifth minor falling and principal rise [hareruya] hymn of the king constitution which can be misguided

The last one for now may be a little more obscure, I think.  Or maybe not as obscure as #4.  The changes are fascinating.  Let’s try this:

5)  As for the world everyone who is in the fire could not rescue my you. Some craving makes, the strange foolish people thing me where I who meet to someone thing I who lose who I like you like you never did not look at dream did not look at dream under any condition and, it can call, I do not think that we would like to fall in love, [this love your center is broken simply, it has gone] to be able to call, I do not think that we would like to fall in love, [this love breaks your center simply, it has gone] using you, using you

~ by truth9 on June 8, 2007.

10 Responses to “Something Else Amusing”

  1. The 4th one is Hallelujah by Leonard Cohen. It is pretty obscure. I think I know 1 and 2 but I’ll leave that for others.

  2. Right in one! The romaji “hareruya” gives it away, doesn’t it?
    It would be obscure if at least three of my regular readers weren’t English majors from Canada.

  3. yeah. Do I really have to say what #3 is? Fine, just for posterity. It’s The Tragically Hip – At the Hundredth Meridian. And sadly, I’m either too dense or too asleep right now to recognize any of the others. Hell I even missed the Cohen one which is bad for me. Tsk tsk.

  4. 1-If your happy and you know it clap your hands. 2-Let it be, 3-dunno, 4-Cohen-HARERUYA hehe, (I think Id like a romanji version better HA! 5-*shrugs* nadda…

  5. Yup, Greg, of course, no question.

    Yes, yes, and yes for you, my love.

    That all leaves #5. No guesses? Anyone? Anyone?

  6. I give… what’s #5?

  7. Alright, alright. I was wondering if anyone else would guess, but I suppose not.
    #5 is Wicked Game by Chris Isaak.
    The world was on fire
    No one could save me but you.
    Strange what desire will make foolish people do
    I never dreamed that I’d meet somebody like you
    And I never dreamed that I’d lose somebody like you
    No, I don’t want to fall in love
    [This love is only gonna break your heart]
    No, I don’t want to fall in love
    [This love is only gonna break your heart]
    With you
    With you

  8. Guh… it had to be that song didn’t it. A song I associate with my time with Karen. Ye bastard 😛

  9. My apologies, I didn’t know that.

    I find the translation of “With you, with you” into “Using you, Using you” to be absolutely fascinating, and it really changes the lyrics.

  10. I’d missed that… and somehow it’s strangely fitting

Leave a Reply

 
