An Obligatory Media Update

To whom am I obligated to report my consumed media?

No one, actually.

So, here’s the media I’ve explored since last I mentioned it.

I have read Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (entirely at home, over a weekend, believe it or not), Umberto Eco’s How to Travel with a Salmon (mostly while at one of my elementary schools, which is where I finished it), Terry Pratchett’s Interesting Times (read both at schools and at home, finished at home), and Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (home and school, finished at home).

I am now a bit over halfway through Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, but I haven’t yet decided whether I will just finish the next Potter book or if I’ll read something else first.

I’ve also watched several movies in the last week and a half, and we are now only one episode behind on the current season of Doctor Who.

All of the games I was playing seem to be on hold for my current reading obsession.

It seems that I’ve read 9 books since finishing Anatomy of Criticism in mid-May, which is exactly how many books I read in Japan prior to starting that book.

How to Travel with a Salmon is in the same vein as Eco’s Misreadings, as largely a collection of satires written over a 20 or thirty year period. Sometimes the essays are amusing, sometimes it seems that one needs a greater awareness of certain Italian societal idiosyncrasies to fully get the text, and sometimes it seems that he’s trying to hard to by witty.

In addition, having now read three books of his essays, I would suggest that a large amount of Jacobo Belbo in Foucault’s Pendulum is taken from Eco’s own life and attitudes.

Interesting Times is an amusing entry into Pratchett’s Discworld series, this time with its own version of Chinese culture. It was engaging and had some definite laugh-out-loud moments. I would recommend it to anyone that has enjoyed previous Discworld novels.

~ by truth9 on June 13, 2007.

2 Responses to “An Obligatory Media Update”

  1. I agree with you about Jacopo Belbo and Eco. There are similar scenes, or rather recollections, of Italy during the war in the Mysterious Flame of Queen Loana that are in Foucault’s Pendulum. No trumpet, but certainly adventure. There’s also a fascination with pinball.

    And I really should start reading Pratchett/Discworld. Not to mention update my own media…

  2. Yes, you should read some Discworld stuff. Highly amusing.

    Yeah, there are points in the essays where Eco is talking about himself but which are almost verbatim experiences described as Belbo’s.

Leave a Reply

 
