A Quick Doctor Who Note

I’ve been watching the new series and enjoying it, overall.

I thought last week’s episode, Blink, is one of the creepiest things that I’ve ever seen. Seriously. Maybe I’m a wuss, but when I went to a place that had statues on the weekend I just kept looking at them over my shoulder, just in case.

Also, with regards to the revelation at the end of Utopia, HA! I told you so.  Check the comments.

I’m very much looking forward to the next two episodes.

Darn good show, Doctor Who.

~ by truth9 on June 18, 2007.

5 Responses to “A Quick Doctor Who Note”

  1. I told you Blink was a really good episode despite not having the Doctor in it. Amen for Stephen Moffat’s writing. That’s two great episodes he has written now, The Girl in the Fireplace and this one.

    I really enjoyed Utopia though I was a little dissapointed in the interaction between Jack and this incarnation of the Doctor. Jack’s part just seemed a little flat and there wasn’t the same chemistry that existed between Rose, Doc 9 and Jack, but you obviously can’t have that when 2 out of 3 of those aren’t there anymore.

    And let’s be honest… if you’ve been living in a cave in Antarctica you still should’ve been able to see the whole “plot twist” coming. Russell Davies is not the most subtle of writers and they’ve been telegraphing this since last season. Still, I enjoyed it though I wish that Professor Yana had stuck around a little longer. Derek Jacobi is just too cool for school and I’d love to have seen him in a recurring role.

  2. I would say four great episodes, as he was also responsible for the 9th Doctor two-parter that introduced Captain Jack.

    Yeah, you said Blink was good, but I was seriously blown away by the episode’s creepiness. I wasn’t expecting it to be that good.

    I also enjoyed Utopia, but I want to see how the relationship plays out over the next few episodes before I allow disappointment. I mean, the Doctor did abandon Jack a couple hundred thousand years in the future, and there were a lot of other things going on in this episode. So many that I think their relationship wasn’t exactly given top billing.

    Well, they pretty much had to get rid of Jacobi’s Master didn’t they? I mean, the whole season’s been building up to Mr. Saxon, so a prolonged appearance Professor Yana would have been unfeasible (though admittedly cool).

    What I wanna know is how the Hades the Master can freaking regenerate. He shouldn’t be able to do that, unless they’re getting rid of certain canon.

    Don’t get me wrong, I won’t turn into a whiny fanboy complaining about them screwing the story up if they don’t explain it, but as a longtime fan it is a very curious point.

  3. Well, to be fair there has never been an official Doctor Who scriptwriter’s bible so there have always been these lapses in “canon”. Not that I mind if they lapse on that one. I hate to think that there are only 3 more incarnations left.

  4. I’m still too scared to start. Cause if I did, I’d have to start at the beginning. . . the BEGINNING! Ugh.

  5. Nah, you can get in via the 2004 series. The new stuff is fairly self-contained.

    Besides, a lot of the 1st and 2nd Doctor stuff is missing, so there’s little from the beginning that you can watch. The 3rd Doctor+ is pretty solid though.

    Hey, you’ve watched all the Trek stuff, right? Well, there are more episodes, but there’s less actual time involved in watching all of the Doctor’s adventures.

    And they’re better than Trek. Mostly.

Leave a Reply

 
