Esashi Fujiwara no Sato

A week has passed since the visit to the cast iron festival, and another teacher’s birthday has arrived. It is time for another visit to a local tourist place.

Or something.

Anyways, for Andrew’s birthday our boss brought everyone to Esashi Fujiwara no Sato. Not knowing Japanese, and not having had any kind of a guide, I don’t have anywhere near as much to tell about the place as I would if I could read the language and knew what was going on.

So, this is what I know.

Esashi is the name of the town (now ward of the larger city we live in) that the park is in.

The Fujiwara clan apparently was the group that settled this area and built the local Chusonji Temple way back in the 12th Century.

No is the Japanese possessive, kind of like an apostrophe followed by an ‘s’ in English.

Sato is the Japanese word for sugar, which I suspect is coincidental to the fact that it also means village. If I knew the kanji, I could say for sure which was the case.

So Esashi Fujiwara no Sato is, essentially, the Esashi Fujiwara’s Sugar (or Village, whichever is more appropriate).

The pictures of our day can be found on Amanda’s photoblog under the title “July 22 – Esashi: Fujiwara no Sato.”

I would do a thorough walkthrough of the photos, but I can’t since most of them would consist of the comment “I liked how this looked, so I took the picture.”

I’ll try to hit the highlights.

First, who did we go with? We went with our boss, Maggie; a friend of hers from Hawaii; her friend’s two children; our coworker, Andrew; Joyce, from the kindergarten; and a friend of hers.

Essentially, the place seems to be a historical recreation of a 1th century Japanese town/mansion, with a few antiques thrown in here and there. It is also often used for TV samurai dramas and sometimes for films (though I can’t tell you the names of any of them, I did recognize the posters for some).

I would love to be able to tell you who all the figures are, what they were doing, and who they were at war with, but I haven’t a clue. So, we just took pictures of neat looking things (buildings, flowers, wildlife, and the occasional antique) and fiddled with all the things we were allowed to fiddle with.

Fortunately, this included trying on Samurai armor (which was rather heavy, but not too much so), playing with a replica katana (though if memory serves they weren’t called katanas in the 12th century), and trying our hand with the traditional Japanese bow.

We also fed masses of koi.

What the pictures don’t show you is that the koi actually follow you in the hope that you’ll feed them, and if you do start feeding them, masses more will come over to wherever you are. We have video of this, and it was bloody cool (any suggestions for how I can show my videos?).

After feeding the fish, we got to try on some traditional Japanese attire, which was an interesting challenge. Not the quickest clothing to don and not the easiest to move in. Still, it looks cool, and that’s what matters, right?

There’s not a lot more to say, really. It was fun, but it would have been more interesting if we had known what was what. For example, if someone could have said that one thing was a house, that another thing was a mansion, and that a third thing was a public building, then I suspect we would have gotten more out of the experience.

But it all looked very picturesque, so that’s alright.

~ by truth9 on September 10, 2007.

3 Responses to “Esashi Fujiwara no Sato”

  1. Well, it depends on what you’re asking about the videos. If you’re wanting to edit them, that’s a personal choice regarding your editing suite (personally I use Nero for what little I do). If you’re just looking for hosting, set up a youtube account and use that.
    Hope that helps.

  2. Nah, editings not an issue. I just wasn’t sure if YouTube was really the way to go.

  3. Well, I can’t vouch from experience as I’ve never used it, but I figure it’s the easiest way to go

Leave a Reply

 
