James Oliver Rigney is Gone

The man best known to the world as Robert Jordan has passed away.  He died from a horrible disease called primary amyloidosis with cardiomyopathy (cardiac amyloidosis), having not quite made it to 60 years of age.

I was in grade 8 when I first heard about his masterpiece, The Wheel of Time, but I didn’t start it then.

During a school trip to West Edmonton Mall, I wanted a new novel.  I was browsing through the fantasy section and the cover of The Dragon Reborn caught my eye, so I picked it up.  At that point, a man standing nearby (not an employee) told me how amazing the series was and that I should definitely read it.

His suggestion, while I have always remembered it, was not taken.  I put the book back and bought the Tom Swift novel that I had gone in to purchase.

Two years later, a high school friend commented that the series was excellent, so, at the beginning of summer vacation after grade 10,  I got the first book, The Eye of the World, from the library.

It sat on my bedside table for two months.  I renewed it 2 times without ever reading more than the cover blurbs.

Finally, early that fall, I began the series.

By Christmas, I had told everyone I knew that they had to read the series too.

I still tell everyone that they should read the series.

I cannot say much about Mr. Rigney as a man.  I never met him, I never spoke to him or questioned him during any of the internet chats.  I know that he leaves a family behind.  I know that he fought as hard as a person can against a horrible disease.  I know that he led an interesting life and loved to write.

I know that he will be remembered as one of the great writers of high fantasy.

I know that I will miss the adventures he chose to share with us.

Rest in Peace.

~ by truth9 on September 18, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
