Evangelion Gashapon

M. requested pictures from three of my listed gashapon series, so this marks the second of those (albeit, the third post (there’s a second FF post if you missed it)).

Neon Genesis Evangelion is probably my single favorite anime series. It has depth and a wealth of imagery along with a well-crafted story. Contrary to what critics will say, the ending is perfect for the series, whether you choose to include End of Evangelion or not.

Sadly, I find myself in the Northern part of Japan, so the new Eva movie didn’t come to my local theater. I wouldn’t have understood all of the Japanese in it, but I definitely would have gone.

I don’t have a huge number of Evangelion gashapon, as I don’t like the majority of the figures.

See, a very large majority of the Eva gashapon are designed around Rei and Asuka, but not really related to the series. You can get figures of these two themed in a whole manner of costumes: Christmas, magic-girl, medieval armored, bathing suits, sundresses, towels, and more.

My annoyance is that most of these gashapon are unrelated to the anime and are really just unhealthy pandering to the hardcore otaku that have a sick obsession with these two characters.

On the other hand, the Eva Units themselves are often irksomely priced or poorly built, and the Angels are just hard to find.

But enough about that.

I do have some cool Eva figures, and I hope to find more before I leave Japan.

There is no real order to these, with two exceptions.

The last thing in the post is my single favorite Eva gashapon, largely because it’s an unusual portrayal of Rei that is actually from the series (one of those infamous last two episodes, actually).

The first thing I’ll post is what I call the “Let’s Ignore Each Other” Set. Though even that title works well within the context of the overall series.

LIEO-1LIEO-2LIEO-3

And here we have individual shots of each character.

LIEO-4LIEO-5LIEO-6LIEO-7

Next are a few random character shots.

Eva01Eva02Eva03Eva04Eva05

Eva06Eva07Eva08

This figure of Asuka might give you a small indication of what I’m talking about when I say that there is a lot of ridiculous pandering to hardcore otaku with Eva figures.

Asuka1

At the other end of the scale (maybe), here’s Pen-Pen.

PenPen1PenPen2

My favorite gashapon, overall, are those that depict scenes or are evocative of great moments in a series. I haven’t really posted any of those yet, because I haven’t seen any reasonably priced ones from Final Fantasy, and I haven’t seen many from Evangelion. You will see a few when I post our Full Metal Alchemist, and you’ll definitely see several after that with the Dragon Ball stuff.

That said, I have two figures that are, in my mind, evocative of cool moments in the series.

Eva09

End of Eva01End of Eva02End of Eva03

This figure is, I think, the quintessential Gendo Ikari. I trust no one will disagree with my assessment?

Gendo

Finally, the figure that I said is my single favorite Eva piece, and it is one of my favorite gashapon overall. I think that this figure is a perfect example of a moment wonderfully captured.

Rei Eating Bread 01Rei Eating Bread 02

On a final note, don’t forget that you can request what gashapon you’d like to see, so if there’s something you want to see, just leave a comment.

If you’re curious about the delays, my excuse is that early requests were for big series.

Oh, and to those of you who know us IRL, if there’s anything you think is cool, or that you want us to keep an eye out for, let us know and we’ll see what we can find.

~ by truth9 on December 2, 2007.

3 Responses to “Evangelion Gashapon”

  1. It’s too bad that you missed out seeing the remake in theater. Like Asuka’s feelings about Shinji’s increasing sync ratio, I would have been full of envy.

    I’d have to say that this series probably suffers more than others when it comes to raving otaku and their perverse notions. I’m not exactly sure why this would be the case though, seeing that the thematic nature of the series seems opposed to such thoughts.

    The “Let’s ignore each other” set is pretty cool, but I can’t help feeling that Kaoru would have helped offset the others with his well meaning arrogance/self-confidence.

    It’s a shame you don’t have a Kaji.

    No disagreements about Gendo Ikari.

    And lastly, Rei with toast is kick ass. After seeing this figure I really can’t think of any other moments in the series worth capturing.

  2. Yes, I am more than slightly PO’d about the film not coming here.

    Yes, the Eva otaku are many and crazy. I’m fairly certain there’s a PS1 dating sim for the various girls.

    I don’t keel that Kaoru would be right in that group, given his nature. Sure, he’s the fifth child, but is he really? I don’t think so.

    I agree, but I haven’t seen him yet. I plan on looking when next I’m in Tokyo.

    I didn’t think you would.

    Yes, that is an awesome figure isn’t it? Want one? I’m fairly certain that I can get another.

  3. Your site is the best!!
    Please link to this site.
    http://evangelion-nerv.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

 
