In Memoriam: Patrick McGoohan

The actor who boldly shouted that he was a man, not a number, died yesterday.

He was 80 years old. 

He turned down the role of James Bond before Connery was offered it simply because he didn’t like the character’s attitudes to violence and women.

I first encountered the man best known as Number Six during a marathon of The Prisoner on PBS many years ago. 

I fell in love with the show and sat glued to the screen until late into the night.

Since then, I have watched the series several times, and I’ve enjoyed his work in other roles (Columbo comes to mind).

I cannot say too much about McGoohan, the man.  I never met him; I haven’t read much about him.  As I understand it, he avoided being in the public eye when he wasn’t acting. 

That said, The Prisoner stands as an interesting commentary on his views about life and society. 

“I will not be pushed, filed, stamped, indexed, briefed, debriefed, or numbered.  My life is my own.”

~ by truth9 on January 14, 2009.

8 Responses to “In Memoriam: Patrick McGoohan”

  1. I Am Not A Number.

    Damn. I totally missed this. I loved the prisoner and McGoohan and always liked his performances when I saw him in other things.

    Pity, but all things must pass in time

    Oh and my blog hasn’t been abandoned. Just having issues with it that I haven’t had time to fix it in case you were wondering why the website is blank. I screwed up an install of wordpress somewhere along the way.

  2. I was wondering what happened to you. I assumed that life continued to get in the way.

  3. Kinda makes me want to watch the series, or at least Fall Out.

  4. Fall Out doesn’t have as strong of an impact if you haven’t seen Number Six’s trials up to that point.

    I highly recommend the series. It’s only 17 episodes.

  5. I really enjoyed The Prisoner too! But i haven’t seen Fall Out, though…

  6. You haven’t seen the final episode? That’s so sad.

  7. ohhhh the final episode of the prisoner is called Fall Out… hehehe make sense… bah my memory… YES YES I HAVE 🙂 of course Mark wouldn’t leave the final episode out! It’s a pretty unforgettable episode (although i did forget its name…)… the big bang of the whole saries…

  8. Yes, indeed. “All You Need is Love” hasn’t been the same for me since.

Leave a Reply

 
