In Case You Hadn’t Heard…

… And Assuming That You Care.

Apparently, “A Memory of Light,” which was to be the last Wheel of Time novel, has been split into three. 

This would bother me except a) it means that I have a little longer to reread the series before concluding it (and technically I can read it 3 more times before concluding (if I want to)), b) the man hired to finish the series after RJ’s death gave very good reasons for the split, and c) it gives me a chance to find out if I like Sanderson’s writing.  

So that’s okay. 

On the other hand, I liked Jordan’s claims of making TOR find new printing methods for the monstrous volume he was going to write.

~ by truth9 on April 2, 2009.

12 Responses to “In Case You Hadn’t Heard…”

  1. Hmm perhaps between now and then I’ll find the motivation to finish reading the series to date. But then again, you’ll most likely buy it the moment it’s released meaning we’ll own it and I’ll have all the time in the world to finish it. Not to mention you’ll most likely comment/critique upon reading it so I’ll probably not want to hear about it for awhile lol 🙂

  2. Nah, I can’t comment/discuss new books in the WoT with anyone who hasn’t read them. That’s what M. and W. are for.

  3. What am I J? Chopped Liver? *sniff*

    Personally I’m torn on the whole subject. On one hand, it’s a chance to try Sanderson’s work while in “familiar territory” and we can finally say “thank god this series is over.” on the other hand I would’ve prefered it if they’d just come out and said “whoops. RJ had just too much crap for one book, we’re actually going to do 13 (or 14) books instead.” The fact that they’re doing 3 books and essentially numbering them books 12a, 12b and 12c chokes me up a little and feels more like one more stab at a cash cow than any real sense of closure from TOR’s perspective.

    The sad thing is despite any complaints I have or make, I’m still going to buy the damn things, in hardcover, on the day of release.

  4. Oh and in other book related news. I definitely recommend Scott Lynch’s Gentlemen Bastard Sequence that starts with The Lies of Locke Lamora. Good dirty con artistry and skullduggery reminiscent of 18th Century English highwaymen in a low fantasy setting. The second book, Red Sails Under Red Skies, isn’t quite as good but is still a solid second novel.

  5. I didn’t think I’d ever done the same level of navel gazing over this series with you that I had with M and W.

    But I’d be more than happy to after the next book comes out.

    That sounds like a fun book. I’m actually reading the Dresden books that you recommended way back when.

  6. I guess it’s about time I chimed in.

    I’m skeptical about everything that is to come regarding the Wheel of Time.

    After reading a few of the prequels for the Dune series some years ago, I can’t help but feel some trepidation about any work presented upon the passing of a unique author, no matter how copious the notes. Brian Herbert failed to capture the spirit of his father (mind you, with the help of another author), so I can’t see a near stranger to Mr. Jordan fairing much better, even with the help of Harriet.

    I guess skeptical isn’t the word that would describe me. Pessimistic is more like it. Now that the Memory of Light has been slotted to be arriving in three parts I’m more likely to abandon the series.

    Which means I’ll still finish the damn series. That is, if it ever finishes…

  7. I can actually see a near stranger staying closer to the vision of Jordan than did Brian Herbert. Besides, Anderson has made a career of writing fanfic (look at the majority of his work, and you’ll find he mostly plays with other people’s toys) with over 50 books published in the past 14 years.

    Further, the Dune books were (as I understand it) very complex texts from a conceptual level, while the WoT books aren’t anywhere near as complicated. And, let’s face it, F. Herbert wrote his six Dune books over the course of 35ish years, while B. Herbert & Anderson have published a Dune book a year since 1999, and that’s with, at most, 3 years prep for the first book and a gap of 13 years between the last F. Herbert and the first B. Herbert book.

    Sanderson was hired by Jordan’s wife/editor within months of Jordan’s death, and he was writing shortly after that. Jordan had outlined/plotted the final book before his death, had told the story to close friends and family, and had extensive notes about what was to happen. Whether the book(s) will read the same way or not is unknown, but I think it (they) will be closer to the creator’s vision than the Dune things.

    I also have some trepidation, but, based on the article I linked to, I think Sanderson is treating the series with respect. Three parts is annoying, but if he’s telling the truth, and we end up with three solid sized novels, I don’t care so long as he’s not just expanding everything unnecessarily.

  8. I’ll agree with Jon wholeheartedly on that one

  9. I’m sure Sandy will do fine. I couldn’t be bothered to read his long-winded apology for the split, so I’m positive he can be as long-winded in his fantasy writing as Mr. Jordan. I also think he shouldn’t speak for all fantasy writers and say they all blabbering on and forget the actual storyline and then have a thought later on, oh yeah, something needs to happen. With the series extending to two extra books, I calculate I will be 88 years old when I finish the series.

  10. I think more happens in the “nothing happened” books than people seem to think. It’s all about context.

  11. First book is out as of the 27th. I’m plugging away as we speak. So far so good. I’ll keep you posted

  12. I am currently about half way through The Gathering Storm now, and I must say, it’s great.

    Further review pending…

Leave a Reply

 
