Help Me Choose a Laptop

Our laptops are ailing.  Amanda and I bought a pair of lappies in summer 2006.  That being almost 4 years ago, and laptops being notoriously difficult to keep alive, we’re thinking about getting new laptops.We’re getting to the place where not all the keys are working and where the computers sometimes announce their hatred of the universe and stop working for no apparent reason (admittedly, this has happened more with Amanda’s than mine, but I have times when it just chugs for several minutes and I have no idea why).

I am somewhat of a gamer.  I like a variety of games in a variety of genres.  I prefer PC gaming to console gaming.  What I’m saying is that I’d like a system that has some juice.

Amanda, on the other hand, is an artist.  She has done some graphic work on her Lappy, but it’s a little chuggy for her to do anything serious.

I was toying with getting the Dell XPS 16, which is currently $1699 as configured below:

  • Intel i7-720 QM Quad-core processor
  • Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
  • 15.6″ WLED LCD (1920×1080)
  • 2.0 MP built-in webcam
  • 6 GB DDR3 Ram @ 1333 Mhz
  • 500 GB 7200 RPM SATA HDD
  • ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4670 w/ 1Gb onboard Ram
  • CD/DVD-RW
  • Wireless-N network card

But then I heard about the ASUS G73JH-A1, which will be out in Canada in 2 weeks-ish for $1743-ish as configured below:

  • Intel i7-720 QM Quad-core processor
  • Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
  • 17.3″ LED (1920×1080)
  • 2.0 MP built-in webcam
  • 8 GB DDR3 Ram @ 1066 Mhz
  • 1 TB (2×500 GB) 7200 RPM SATA-II HDD
  • ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5870 w/ 1GB onboard Ram
  • BD Reader-CD/DVD-RW
  • Wireless-N network card
  • Altec-Lansing Speakers w/subwoofer
  • Backpack
  • ASUS Razor Gaming Mouse

I would like to look at the Alienware M17x, but it starts @ $2000 and that’s with the dual core i5-520M, a 250 GB HDD, a 1440×900 monitor, and only 4 GB Ram @ 1066 Mhz.  To match/surpass the XPS 16’s processor, HDD, monitor resolution, and Ram, you’re looking at $2670, and if you want to give it the same Ram and BD as the Asus, you’re up to $3200.  I’ve heard little but positivity about Alienware, but their out of my financial reach.

The external aesthetic isn’t really an issue to me.

I’m leaning towards the Asus.  Does anyone out there agree? Disagree? Have another suggestion?

~ by truth9 on February 18, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
