BSG Mistakes (Mine, not Theirs)

Apparently, the ‘reimagined’ Battlestar Galactica began with a miniseries or a two-part pilot, depending on how you want to look at things.  I didn’t know that.

Honestly, if you were to acquire a TV series, you would think that Season 1 was the place to start, too, wouldn’t you?

So, there Amanda and I were, watching the first season, and we had no idea what was going on.  I thought to myself, Hey! It begins in media res, obviously they’re going to explain some stuff as the show goes on.  Then an episode went by, then a few more, and we found ourselves with only the two-part season finale left, scratching our heads. 

Amanda suggested that it was unnecessarily confusing with far too much left unexplained and that she didn’t really care about the characters because she was confused.  I was doing my best to keep a positive attitude, but it seemed like the revelations were coming too slowly.

Of course, I was chastened when Amanda said, “Look it up,”  and I learned about the miniseries. 

Last night, we watched the miniseries.  Now, we know what the deal is with Baltar.  We know why everyone keeps dissing Laura Roslin.  We know what the tension was/is between Commander Adama and Apollo.  We know why Helo is on Caprica and why he was so surprised to meet Boomer there. We know why everyone’s in a massive space convoy (I made an assumption beased on the old series while we were watching, but it was nice to have it confirmed).  We know how they know what some of the Cylon’s look like.  We know Number Six’s name. 

We actually care about the characters. 

It’s amazing what a difference a few hours of introductory material make. 

The real question, though, is whether we weren’t more careful in our viewing simply because we didn’t know what was going on.  We’ll never know.

~ by truth9 on January 29, 2010.

2 Responses to “BSG Mistakes (Mine, not Theirs)”

  1. I’ve recently wanted to restart that series, but I haven’t been able to find the miniseries. I do understand how that can be confusing, and I’m sorry it soured it for you. To me, it seems as if the BSG series wasn’t so much about the story as it was about the story and the fight. Maybe I’ll think differently the second time round.

  2. I’m sure that one of those sentences didn’t get written the way you wanted it to…

    I wouldn’t say that I was soured on the series. I’d say that I was left a little too in the dark about what was going on, and that was my own fault. It’s all much better now.

Leave a comment